Check your search results here

Scholarships Opportunities for Kenyans to Australia

Scholarships : Promoting development in Africa through education and training

Applications for 2016 Open 1 September – 12 December 2014

Australia Awards are prestigious international scholarships funded by the Australian Government. 
They promote development in Africa through a large-scale program of training opportunities for African professionals.

About Australia Awards: Australia Awards Scholarships are postgraduate scholarships that lead to an academic qualification from an Australian university. The objective of the Awards is to provide high-quality education and training to talented Africans who will be in a position, on their return home, to make an important contribution to national or regional development.

For studies commencing in 2016, Australia Awards Scholarships are available to eligible applicants from 11 African countries. 

Masters-level Awards: Australia Awards Scholarships are currently being offered at Masters degree level for 2016. Focus sectors reflect areas that have been identified as priorities by partner  governments and in which Australia is recognised as having world-class expertise and experience.

Current priority sectors include:
·                     Agriculture and Food Security
·                     Extractives
·                     Public Policy
Priority sectors vary by country. Check your country page on the Australia Awards website.
Eligibility: To be considered for an Award, applicants need to hold an undergraduate degree and be employed in a field relevant to their country’s national development priorities.

The applicant’s employer must endorse the application.

In most eligible countries, Awards are available to applicants from the public sector, civil society organisations and the private sector.

Strong applicants whose English language proficiency is not of a level that meets entry requirements for study in Australia may be entitled to English language training before leaving for Australia to take up an Award. HIV-positive condition is not a barrier to eligibility.

To check whether your country is eligible for Masters-level Awards, please refer to the map on the right or visit our website:

Schedule: Interviews will be held in May and June 2015 in venues across Africa. Successful  applicants can expect to commence their studies in Australia in January 2016, unless they require English language training in advance of taking up the Award.

All Awardees must be issued with a visa by the Australian Government before they take up their Scholarship.

Gender Equality: Australia Awards targets equal participation by women and men. Applications from women are strongly encouraged. Mechanisms are in place to support women applicants and Awardees if necessary, to ensure parity as far as possible.

Disability Inclusion: Australia Awards aims to ensure that people with a disability are given fair and equal opportunity to compete for and obtain a scholarship. Applications from Africans with disability are strongly encouraged. Mechanisms are in place to support applicants and Awardees requiring specific assistance.

Costs Covered: Australia Awards cover the full cost of tuition fees (up to two years), training materials, accommodation, living expenses, health insurance for basic medical and hospital care in Australia, and travel.

For more information on eligibility criteria and application forms, please visit the Australia Awards

DO NOT MISS to Subscribe below for the latest jobs to your EMAIL for FREE

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Want to know the latest news, read great articles, features, jobs and careers? Then click here