Check your search results here

Announcement of PHD Fellowships 2015 / 2016

African Economic Research Consortium (AERC)
Announcement for PHD Fellowships 2015/2016
The African Economic Research Consortium (AERC) was established in 1988 as a public not-for-profit organization devoted to the advancement of economic policy research and training in Africa. 

The Consortium’s mandate and strategic intent is built on the basis that sustained development in sub-Saharan Africa requires well-trained, locally based professional economists. 

AERC agitates the provision of capacity building in economic policy in Francophone and Anglophone African countries through provision of support in the areas of policy research and graduate training.

AERC in collaboration with the Government of Kenya, through the National Treasury, seeks to build a pool of qualified Economists and Policy Analysts in the following areas of specialization in Economics, through a Scholarship Programme for PhD students:
  • Financial Economics 
  • Environmental and Natural Resource Economics
  • Energy Economics 
  • Monetary Economics
  • Infrastructural Economics 
  • Agricultural Economics
  • Public Sector Economics 
  • International Trade
To qualify for scholarship, candidates must have applied and been admitted to any one of the following Collaborative PhD Programme (CPP) in Economics degree-awarding universities across the region with whom AERC has partnerships:
  • University of Cape Town 
  • University of Nairobi
  • University of Ibadan, Nigeria 
  • University of Dar es Salaam
  • University of Benin, Nigeria 
  • University of Witwatersrand, South Africa
  • University of Yaoundé II, Cameroon 
  • University of Cocody, Cote D’Ivoire
To qualify, applicant must:
  • Be a Kenyan citizen;
  • Have applied and been admitted to any one of the CPP universities;
  • Have attained at least a Second Class Honours (Upper Division) or equivalent in Economics or related field from an accredited university;
  • Have a Masters Degree (with coursework and thesis component) in Economics, Agricultural Economics or related fields from a recognized University. The coursework should have covered microeconomics, macroeconomics and quantitative methods;
  • Female candidates are highly encouraged to apply;
  • Possession of at least 1 relevant publication in a refereed journal will be an added advantage;
  • Evidence of engagement in economic management, research and/or training in the public sector will be an added advantage.
Interested applicants must submit their applications for admission directly to the respective Universities (application procedure can be obtained from the respective university’s website). 

Upon receipt of an admission letter from specific university, the applicants shall submit their application for scholarship to AERC on and attach a copy of the admission letter. 

In addition, applicants shall attach their curriculum vitae and certified copies of their academic certificates and transcripts. 

The deadline for applying for the scholarship is July 15, 2015.

For more information on AERC, you can visit our website on

DO NOT MISS to Subscribe below for the latest jobs to your EMAIL for FREE

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Want to know the latest news, read great articles, features, jobs and careers? Then click here